Very first Memory!

Before I get into today’s post, I already feel very good about participating in this BlogathonđŸ™‚ I am here, dishing out the second post for the challenge, which means I managed to publish the first one! Lot many times, many of the challenges / resolutions I signed up for, ended before even I started. Such is my track record.. I am still crossing my fingers on how far I would reach in this challenge. Nevertheless, I am going to keep up my spirits and sincerely try and hope to finish this successfully!

Enough about feeling good, et al. Let me get started with today’s post. I have been reading / following blogs since 2008.However, I managed to create my own blog, only in 2015. I always wanted to have my own blog, but I was unsure of what I should write about. After lot of thinking, sane and insane moments, I decided, I am going to write about those incidents etched in my memory since very long.

The very first incident that is etched in my memory dates back to when I was 7 years old. Yeah, I do not remember a thing before that. I vividly remember many incidents after this one, that had happened at home, school, school bus, relative’s places, road, etc. Even I remember some mundane phone calls  and few homework exercises that had happened when I was 8 or so.

As I replay the incident for the umpteenth time in mind, I could recollect my mom sitting cross-legged in a hospital floor, writing in an inland letter with a blue ballpoint pen. Next to her was a old lady, looking very fragile and worn out, telling her what to write. I can also remember, an old man ( the old lady’s husband) was looking at both of them. I call out to my mom, “Amma..”. She just raises her head towards me and gives her confident smile and responds, “I will come in a minute. Don’t move your left hand. The needle will hurt.”

As my mom tells me now, I had a very high fever, two days before this incident and I had seizures and fainted. What I believe is that seizures had played havoc in my memory, either it erased all the previous memories or it improved my then very weak memory, so much that I started remembering all the everyday incidents, that are going to be used either as fodder for this blogs or to tease some poor souls in family meets.

The old couple, were nowhere related to us, except that we were neighbours in that Big Hospital and the old man had also had seizures. After my discharge form the hospital, we lost in touch with them. Given that they were old then, there are many chances that one or both of them had passed away, by now. I still keep thinking about them. I always wonder, what would have happened to that letter my wrote, on behalf of the couple. Will someone at some part of the world,  is still preserving that letter? Bleak chances, I tell myself.

What is the very first incident etched in your memory? Let us share them. There are many chances, our brains erase them sooner or later to record the events that are going to happen in the future.

Leave a Reply

